2016 Saskatchewan Book Award Winners Announced

The Saskatchewan Book Awards announced the winners of their 2016 awards, celebrating the best in writing and publishing throughout the province, at a gala event in Regina on April 30th. Three publishing prizes were handed out in addition to ten writing prizes, in categories such as fiction, poetry, non-fiction, and scholarly writing.

Congratulations to our members & their authors who received awards:

Freehand Books & Elizabeth Philips, which won the City of Saskatoon and Public Library Saskatoon Book Award for The Afterlife of Birds

Thistledown Press & Rita Bouvier, which won the Rasmussen, Rasmussen & Charowsky Aboriginal Peoples’ Writing Award for nakamowin’sa for the seasons

Wolsak and Wynn & Jeanette Lynes, which won the Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award for Bedlam Cowslip

For more details and a full list of this year's winners, please visit the Sask Book Awards website.