Victoria Book Prize 2014 Finalists Announced


The Victoria Book Prize society announced the 2014 nominations for the City of Victoria Bulter Book Prize and the Bolen Books Children's Book Prize on September 17th. Two independent juries selected the finalists, looking for the best books by Greater Victoria authors from the past year.

Many of our publishers and their authors were selected as finalists for both awards this year. Congratulations to:

Brick Books for The Lost Letters by Catherine Greenwood (Butler Prize)

Coteau Books for Every Happy Family by Dede Crane (Butler Prize) and Day of the Cyclone by Penny Draper (Children's Book Prize)

Biblioasis & ECW Press Both Celebrate 2014 Giller Prize Longlist Nominees


The Scotiabank Giller Prize celebrated its 21st year by announcing its longlist at McGill University, alma mater of the Prize's founder Jack Rabinovitch, on September 16th. Over 160 titles were submitted from over 60 publishers nationwide and this year's jury of Shauna Singh Baldwin, Justin Cartwright, and Francine Prose, narrowed it down to a longlist of 12 titles.

Of those 12 titles, a quarter come from our very own member publishers. Congratulations to Biblioasis and ECW Press on their nominations.

Biblioasis author Kathy Page was nominated for her short story collection, Paradise and Elsewhere, and

Theytus Books Authors Honoured at the Ontario Premier’s Awards


The Ontario Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts were handed out on September 16th at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto. The Awards were created by the Government of Ontario in 2006 and are given out annually to individual artists as well as arts organizations that make significant contributions to the arts in Ontario. The Ontario Arts Council selects a jury to evaluate the candidates and select a winner each year.

Congratulations to Theytus Books on having two of its authors recognized this year:

Lee Maracle, author of many books including her first poetry collection Bent Box, received the Individual Artists Award, and

2014 Vancouver Book Award Finalists Announced


The City of Vancouver recently announced the finalists for the 2014 Vancouver Book Awards. Titles selected came from a wide variety of genres but each displayed a unique view of the city of Vancouver. This is the twenty-sixth year the award will be given out to a title that highlights Vancouver as a character, or showcases its culture and/or history.

Congratulations to two of our members who received three nominations:

Arsenal Pulp Press for Anatomy of a Girl Gang by Ashley Little and Artificial Cherry by Billeh Nickerson

Nightwood Editions for How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun? by Doretta Lau

All Lit Up: Quirky, Curious, and Cultural Canadian Literature


We know the way in which our nation’s freshest, edgiest creative voices go from their page to your bookshelves has changed a lot over the last decade. Your beloved indie bookstore may have closed, you may be in a remote location without bricks and mortar options, and it’s tough to sort through everything on offer online to find the best books for you by homegrown authors.

LPG asked readers how they found out about and got their hands on new, local poetry. The response included a keen interest in a dedicated online resource for Canadian literature. 

Please meet All Lit Up, the LPG’s response to readers’ requests, and the new hub of literary publishing in Canada!

The Wondrous Woo Nominated for a 2014 Toronto Book Award


The Toronto Book Awards Committee announced the 2014 finalists recently. Congratulations to LPG member Inanna Publications on the nomination for Carrianne Leung's novel, The Wondrous Woo.

The Toronto Book Awards were created in 1974 to celebrate great works of literature that evoked Toronto. Previous winners include Glen Downie for Loyalty Management (Wolsak & Wynn) and Camilla Gibb for Mouthing the Words (Pedlar Press).

2014 Lambda Literary Award Winners Announced


The winners of the 26th annual Lambda Literary Awards were announced at a gala event in New York City on June 2nd following BookExpo America. Twenty-five awards were handed out in twenty-four various categories, all celebrating the best in LGBT literature from the past year.

Our congratulations go out to two LPG members who had authors take home a prize:

TSAR Publications for Wanting in Arabic by Trish Salah, which won the Transgender Fiction Award, and

Talonbooks for Tom at the Farm by Michel Marc Bouchard, which won the LGBT Drama Award.

A full list of the winners and honorees can be found on the Lambda Literary webite.

2014 Trillium Book Award Nominations Announced


Established by the Ontario government in 1987 to recognize literature created by Ontarians in any genre, the Trillium Book Awards continue to showcase the diversity and excellence of local writers and writing. The Ontario Media Development Corporation announced the 2014 nominations for both the English and French awards on May 21st. This is also the second year that both an English and French award is given to a work of poetry.

We'd like to congratulate our members who received nominations this year:

Guernica Editions for Austin Clarke's Where the Sun Shines Best (English Poetry)

2013 Manitoba Book Award Winners Announced


The winners of the annual Manitoba Book Awards were announced at a gala event on April 27th at the West End Cultural Centre in Winnipeg. Presented by the Manitoba Writers' Guild and the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers, thirteen awards were given out to the province's best.

Our congratulations to go out to our members who came away winners:

Seraphim Editions and Laurelyn Whitt for Tether, which won the Landsowne Prize for Poetry

NeWest Press and Rosie Chard for The Insistent Garden, which won the Margaret Laurence Prize for Fiction

Turnstone Press and Chadwick Ginther for Thunder Road, which won the Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction

2014 Saskatchewan Book Award Winners Revealed


The 2014 Saskatchewan Book Award winners were revealed at a gala event at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina on April 26th. Since 1993 the Saskatchewan Book Awards have been recognizing excellence in writing and publishing within the province.

Our congratulations go out to several of our members and their authors:

Coteau Books and List Bird-Wilson for Just Pretending, which won the University of Regina Book of the Year Award, SaskPower Fiction Award,  Rasmussen, Rasmussen & Charowsky Aboriginal Peoples' Writing Award, and the First Nations University of Canada Aboriginal Peoples' Publishing Award.

Hagios Press and Paul Wilson for The Invisible Library, which won the Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award.