Dakota McFadzean Wins the 2016 Doug Wright Spotlight Award

The 2016 Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning were recently handed out at this year's Toronto Comic Arts Festival during a gala event at the Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel. The finalists were chosen from a longlist of over 150 works submitted that had been published during the previous calendar year by a nominating committee.

We'd like to congratulate LPG member Condundrum Press (also celebrating their 20th anniversary during this year's TCAF) and cartoonist Dakota McFadzean on winning the 2016 Doug Wright Spotlight Award (also known as the Nipper) for Don't Get Eaten By Anything. The award recognizes the Canadian cartoonist most deserving of wider recognition in any given year.

For more details on the Doug Wright Awards and to view a full list of this year's winners, please visit the Doug Wright Awards website.