The League of Canadian Poets Announces 2016 Poetry Award Winners

The League of Canadian Poets announced their 2016 Poetry Award winners at the inaugural Canadian Writers Summit in Toronto on June 18th. The awards---Gerald Lampert and Pat Lowther Memorial Awards, the Raymond Souster Award, and Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award---celebrate the best in recent poetry publications.

Congratulations to Coach House Books & Ben Ladouceur for winning the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, which recognizes a first book of poetry by an emerging voice. The jurors described Ladouceur's collection Otter as “relevant and finely honed” and “edgy with honesty and originality.”

To learn more about these awards, the League, and to view a full list of this year's winners, please visit the League of Canadian Poets website.