Guernica Receives Two National Translation Award Nominations

The American Literary Translation Association recently announced the longlist for their 2015 National Translation Award in Poetry. This is the seventeenth year for the award but the first that poetry has its own separate prize from prose. In order to be considered for the prize, books must have been published in 2014, translated into English, and demonstrate high quality both in translation of the source text and the finished English work.

Congratulations to Guernica Editions on receiving two nominations:

In House: Caitlin Press

Started in 1977 by Carolyn Zonailo as a feminist literary press, Caitlin Press has a long history as a proud British Columbia publisher. Since the beginning, and through a few changes in ownership, Caitlin has reflected the diversity of its home province. In 1991 Cynthia Wilson and Ken Carling took over Caitlin and moved it to Prince George, establishing the press as the publisher of the central interior while also staying true to the original mandate of supporting writing by women.

Alex Leslie Wins the 2015 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers

Since 2007 the Dayne Ogilvie Prize has been given out to writers from the LGBT community who show great promise. The prize is handed out annually by a three member jury and is open to anyone who identities as LGBT, with no age restrictions.

This year's winner is Alex Leslie. With both a collection of short stories and poems published, Leslie has shown just such promise. The jury congratulated her on the fact that her writing, "melds remarkable acuity of vision with a refreshing eagerness for formal experimentation."

How You Were Born & Broom Broom Win Trillium Awards

The winners of this year's Trillium Book Awards were recently announced in Toronto at a dinner hosted by the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC). Celebrating the best in Ontario writing, awards are handed out for English language fiction and poetry books and French language fiction and children's literature titles.

We'd like to congratulate our members who came away with awards:


Subscribe to LPG Members Site RSS