Theytus Books Authors Honoured at the Ontario Premier’s Awards

The Ontario Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts were handed out on September 16th at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto. The Awards were created by the Government of Ontario in 2006 and are given out annually to individual artists as well as arts organizations that make significant contributions to the arts in Ontario. The Ontario Arts Council selects a jury to evaluate the candidates and select a winner each year.

Congratulations to Theytus Books on having two of its authors recognized this year:

Lee Maracle, author of many books including her first poetry collection Bent Box, received the Individual Artists Award, and

Cherie Dimaline, author of Red Rooms and The Girl Who Grew a Galaxy, received the Emerging Artist of the Year Award.

For more information on the Premier's Awards and past winners, please visit the Ontario Arts Council's website.