Toronto Book Awards Reveals Its 2016 Nominees

The Toronto Book Awards committee announced the 2016 nominees, marking the 42nd year the awards have been handed out. The awards celebrate "authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of Toronto." Selected by a jury--Irfan Ali, Ann Jansen, Kilby Smith-McGregor and Conan Tobias--this year's nominees include three novels and two works of non-fiction.

We'd like to congratulate our three members on securing four out of the five slots:

Coach House Books
~ Howard Akler for his memoir Men of Action
~ John Lorinc, Michael McClelland, Ellen Scheinberg and Tatum Taylor (Editors) for The Ward: The Life and Loss of Toronto's First Immigrant Neighbourhood

ECW Press
~ Cordelia Strube for her novel, On the Shores of Darkness, There is Light

Tightrope Books
~ Marnie Woodrow for her novel, Heyday

Nominees will read from their books at two free events open to the public: this year's Word on the Street festival on September 25th as well as at the Scarborough Civic Centre Library on October 5th. The award will be presented at the Toronto Reference Library on October 11th at a special event hosted by Gill Deacon. For more information about the Awards and to view a full list of this year's nominees please visit the City of Toronto website.