Writers' Trust of Canada Reveals 2015 Winners

The Writers' Trust of Canada revealed the winners for the 2015 Rogers Writers' Trust Prizes, including the Matt Cohen Award, Engel/Findley Award, Latner Poetry Prize, Journey Prize, Vicky Metcalf Award, and the Fiction Prize, on November 3rd in Toronto. The awards recognize exceptional literary talent in the writing disciplines of fiction, short story, poetry, writing for children, as well as a writer's body of work.

It was a wonderful evening for small literary presses. Richard Wagamese won the Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life; Wagamese has previously published a poetry collection, Runaway Dreams, with Ronsdale Press. Annabel Lyon, who published an early work -- Oxygen -- with The Porcupine's Quill in 2000, won the Engel/Findley Award, which recognizes a mid-career writer with a remarkable body of work. Karen Solie took home the Latner Award for Poetry and acknowledged the tireless Kitty Lewis and Brick Books for their contribution to her poetry career. Brick Books published Solie's first two collections of poetry: Short Haul Engine (2001) and Modern and Normal (2005).

However, the big winner of the evening was Andre Alexis, who won the Fiction Prize. Fifteen Dogs, published by Coach House Books, looks at human consciousness through a pack of canines who are given human consciousness and language by the gods. If you haven't already read it: first, you definitely should, and second, don't forget to have kleenex on hand.

To see a full list of this year's winners and to learn more about the prize, visit the Writers' Trust of Canada website.