2015 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award Longlist Announced

The longlist for the 2015 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award was announced just in time for the beginning of Short Story Month. The award is given out by the City of Cork in remembrance of Frank O'Connor, one of the world's most renowed short story writers. One of the richest prized in the world for short stories, the Cork City Council hands out the prize annually at the end of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Festival. The longlist was recently announced; a jury will decide the shortlist, which will be announced early in June.

We'd like to congratulate our members & their authors who made the list:

Biblioasis & Diane Schoemperlen for By the Book; Russell Smith for Confidence; & Kathleen Winter for The Freedom in American Songs

Pedlar Press & Kate Cayley for How You Were Born

Nightwood Editions & Matt Rader for What I Want To Tell Goes Like This

Tightrope Books & Janette Platana for A Token of My Affliction; Rolli for I Am Currently Working on a Novel; & Royston Tester for You Turn Your Back

To learn more about the award and to view the full longlist, please visit the Frank O'Connor Short Story Award website.