2015 Manitoba Book Award Winners Announced

The Manitoba Writers' Guild and the Association of Manitoba Publishers recently announced the winners of their annual slate of awards. Seventeen awards were handed out across a variety of categories, including best non-fiction, fiction, poetry, and drama. Wayne Tefs was posthumously awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

We would like to congratulate our members and their authors who received awards:

Freehand Books & Maurice Mierau for Detachment: An Adoption Memoir, which won the Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction

Goose Lane Editions & Margaret Sweatman for Mr. Jones, which won the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction

Palimpsest Press & Ariel Gordon for Stowaways, which won the Lansdowne Prize for Poetry

Playwrights Canada Press & Rick Chafe for The Secret Mask, which won the Chris Johnson Award for Best Play by a Manitoba Playwright

Turnstone Press & Brenda Sciberras for Magpie Days, which won the Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book

To learn more about the awards and to view a full list of this year's winners, please visit the Manitoba Book Awards website.