Carmelita McGrath Wins the 2015 EJ Pratt Award

Congratulations to Goose Lane Editions and Carmelita McGrath on taking home the 2015 EJ Pratt Award for her poetry collection, Escape Velocity. Handed out by the Newfoundland Literary Arts Foundation and Writers' Alliance, the award is given out every two years, along with an award for a work of non-fiction and alternating with works of fiction and young adult literature, to celebrate the best in writing from the province's writing community. This year's winners were feted in a special ceremony on May 27th at the Government House in St. John's.

Escape Velocity, the follow up to Atlantic Book Award-winning To the New World, takes the forgotten everyday fragments of our lives and sets them on unpredictable courses. McGrath's title was selected for the award by a jury of fellow poets, Robin Dunford, Sue Goyette, and George Murray.

To learn more about the awards, please visit the WANL website.